“Well honey, you knew it was coming”

holiday lightsThe holidays always sneak up on me. Year after year. One minute I’m basking in the sunshine on a warm summer day, and the next it’s all a blur of twinkling lights, baking and a sprint to the last shopping day.

One year I lamented to my mother-in-law that I couldn’t believe the holidays were almost here and I still had so much to do. She replied, “Well honey, you knew it was coming, didn’t you?”

Yes, of course she was correct. I do indeed have access to a calendar. Yet it’s still the same pandemonium every time.

I’m beginning to think I subconsciously block it out as a form of denial.

If I just ignore the season, maybe we can skip right to January; no muss, no fuss. And the older I get, the less energy I have for all the fuss.

But more and more, I cherish the time spent with family and friends. That is what the holidays are really all about to me. If only I had more time…

Oops, I’ve got to dash now. So much still to do, you know!

About galjody

Professional communicator and brand image engineer; writer; sci fi geek
This entry was posted in Personal reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

